The Sound of Silents II


This second-annual "The Sound of Silents" event by Vineyard Touring Opera Company showcased vintage silent films with new original scores performed by full orchestra. Films featured included works by cinema’s pioneers including Charlie Chaplin, Thomas Edison, Buster Keaton, Winsor McCay, Georges Méliès, F. W. Murnau, Max Sennett, and Pearl White.

New scores were by distinguished local composers Jason Barabba, Christian Dubeau, Cliff Eidelman, Elliott Goldkind, William Grundler, L. C. Harnsberger, Scott Lasky, Christine Lee, Emily Luong, Nathanael Tronerud, and Jack Van Zandt. The admission to this gala event included films, music, silent auction, raffle, refreshments, and more.


This production was made possible, in part, by a grant from the Los Angeles Board of Supervisors through the Los Angeles County Arts Commission.

GALLERY: The Sound of Silents, 2017

Notes on the Composers

Jason Barabba (Executive Director of Synchromy)
Christian Dubeau (Co-director of Sound and Fury Concerts)
Cliff Eidelman (composer of Star Trek VI)
Elliott Goldkind (award-winning composer having collaborated with Jeff Buckley and David Mamet among others)
William Grundler (local opera singer and composer)
L. C. Harnsberger (composer of the opera “Golondrina”)
Scott Lasky (Director of the Famous Players Orchestra who specialize in silent films)
Christine Lee (writes for concert music, film, games, visual media and dance. Originally from Korea)
Nathanael Tronerud (film scores, audiobooks, animated shorts)
Jack Van Zandt (veteran composer, on the board of American Composers Forum of Los Angeles)

Print | Sitemap
© Vineyard Touring Opera Co